Ever thought about sheet music?

Honestly, I never did. But recently I got this unusual job of designing some music sheets covers for a composer.

It’s the first time I do something like that so I investigated the topic to get an idea of this almost forgotten niche of editorial design: quite interesting!

It seems that with the advent of the internet everything has gone digital so you can find just old stuff, often bizarre and vernacular, or non-designed examples (which are the ones I like most). It’s an intriguing aspect of the relationship between music and design, more interesting to me than album covers or music posters.

This is a small gallery I collected but look for more at Library Of Congress image database.

Leave a Reply

